Offistart - Virtual Offices, Office Space, Business Support Services
*Home>>>Service Offices

A scam? Has anyone ever used an employment agency that charges you $185 to find you a job?


I found an add in the classifieds for a job and I called the number. After I called the # they didn't say anything about the specific job I wanted to apply for. She asked about my education and work experience. They said that after I register and pay the fee they would start sending me to meet with employers right away and that their employers don't place adds in the paper. She said I would get access to their website. They don't have an office near where I live so I would have to travel 2 hrs away just to meet with the agency. Its called Northwest Employment. I just want feedback before I spend $185. They said I would only have to pay it once and then in the future their service would be free.

YEA,IT'S A SCAM AND I GOT CAUGHT ON IT.PAY UP FONT AND SIGH THE CONTRACT.THEN THEY LOOK THROUGH THE WANT ADS IN THE PAPER,GIVE YOU A CARD AND SEND YOU OUT.
i FOUND A JOB ON MY OWN,AND TOLD THE SCUMMIER.THEY CALLED UP MY NEW
BOSS AND TOLD THEM THEY COULDN'T
HIRE ME,AS THEY HAVE A CONTRACT.i didn't get the job.

Anything you have to pay for up front is usually a scam don't fall for it

That must be a private employment agency not a public one or it would be free

Some agencies charge the prospective employer for finding them employees. Some agencies charge the prospective employees to find them jobs. Don't sign on with that agency, and don't pay their fee. There are too many agencies that charge the employer....you don't need them. Hit the job boards, like Career Builder, Monster or Craig's List.

Never pay anyone to find you a job. You may get in there and find out they don't have any jobs in your field, regardless of what their ad says. Then they'll send you on a bunch on interviews for jobs you don't want or can't do just so they can claim they sent you on interviews and keep your money. If they don't close down first.

sounds like a scam i would do more investigation on this.

Yep...it's a rip off. Unless it is a government agency (like One-Stop or EDD), stay away from them altogether. If you needed $ last week, then check out your local Kelly, Robert Half/OfficeTeam or Apple One offices where they get your fee out of the salary (no direct cost to you but those agencies get a whole lot more than $185 when they send you to work first - unless you only put in a few days). Though these places are not as reliable as they once were, they never charge an upfront fee to find someone work.

Dont trust anyone offering money up front!! i wouldnt do it if I was you there's plenty of job agencies out here thats offering free service. That is a scam!!
You can always look up companies on better business bureau www.bbb.org to get more info on the company.

don't do it. employment agencies get paid by the company they scout for. you would be the product they sell...why would you pay them for finding you a job they get paid to find?

i think it's a scam.

If you have to pay something it is a scam. You should never have to pay money to get paid money for your work. #1 rule in scams/fraud.

Tags
  Meeting Room   Meeting Space   Conference Room   Offices to Lease   Rent Offices   Business Centers   Service Offices   Branch Offices   Temporary Offices   Shared Offices   Commercial Space   Office Space
Related information
  • In a Baptist church, is it Biblical for the church members to vote out a Pastor for some valid reason?

    I was a member of a Baptist Church who voted a Pastor out of office. Check your Churches bylaws. I eventuality left that Church for a non-denominational one.

    ...
  • Does OSCR staff at my university have no life?

    Sorry to tell you that the email was harassment even if it only happened once, and screaming in the middle of a dorm is disruptive. When you move into a dorm you have to observe the rules and regul...

  • What is the AT&T Corporate US office phone number? Looking for Randall L. Stephenson CEO?

    If you go to Zoominfo, type in what you gave me, and here you go. You can read more if you go there. Chief Executive Officer4 AT&T Inc. (NYSE: T) Headquarters Address: 175 E. Houston ...

  • Under Ontario's Privacy Act, can people (other than office staff) be told when cheque privileges are stopped

    ...

  • Speedy postal services in South Africa?

    Another thing South Africans have to be proud of: the 1st to master teleportation!

    ...
  • Should I risk my character for a job.. ??

    It takes 10 years to build a reputation and only 10 minutes to lose it. Do not make this exchange. It's a bad deal and I am sure there are much better companies that will appreciate knowledgea...

  • Gym Membership Problem?

    Did you sign a contract? some gyms require members to sign a 1 yr membership. this mean they own you for one yr.

    ...
  • Is this genuine?

    No. It's a scam. For one thing, if people didn't buy tickets, where do they get the money you are supposed to have won? Do you think some nice person just DONATED 450,000 lbs sterli...

  •  

    Categories--Copyright/IP Policy--Contact Webmaster